This project is read-only.

SLAM, relations and the BBC Catalog Editor

Sep 3, 2009 at 8:00 AM

I have been using SLAM for quite some time mainly to maintain an SQL version of the library for use with forms (i prefer to do SQL queries as opposed to XML lookups when working with Infopath for example so that I'm not having to work with sharepoint views for the purpose of sorting, filtering etc..)

However recently it has become important for me to create some tables with relationships so that I can later use the Business Data Catalog to show relational views.

The basic issue I have however is that I'm not able to create the relationships (note that I'm not an expert with SQL).

Here is the basic layout and what I'm trying to acomplish (not this is just a working example, not the actual database I'm working with but if I can solve it in this simple example I will be able to solve it in the more complex database that I'm actually working with).

I have two sharepoint lists, a product list with 2 fields (title and customer).  The Customer field is a lookup field to the Customers List which itself only has one field Customers.  Effectivly the relationship between the product and customer list is the customer field in both.

Here is the excerpt form the SLAM.Config

<List Site="Operations/opsmanagement" Name="Product" ActivationOrder="1">
    <Fields>
     <Field Name="Title" SqlType="varchar(255)" SPType="Text" Required="true"></Field>
     <Field Name="Customer" SPType="lookup" AssociatedList="Customer" AssociationName="Product To Customer" Required="False"></Field>
    </Fields>
   </List>

<List Site="Operations/opsmanagement" Name="Customer" ActivationOrder="1">
    <Fields>
     <Field Name="Title" SqlType="varchar(255)" SPType="Text" Required="true"></Field>
    </Fields>
   </List>